AIA CEO Robert Ivy Is The First Architect To Receive The Polk Lifetime Achievement Award

According to a recent article published in Architect Magazine, Robert Ivy is the first architect to receive the prestigious Polk Lifetime Achievement Award. This Award is given to Mississippi artists and patrons who have demonstrated exceptional achievements throughout their body of work over a lifetime.

As an Author, Editor, Practicing Architect and CEO of AIA since 2011, Robert Ivy has delivered notable achievements throughout his career. Noel Polk award was officially presented to Ivy and Andrew Young of Jackson, Miss. at an event on June 2.

AIA President Carl Elefante, in a press release issued on April of 2018 stated, “This award comes as a crowning personal and professional achievement for him as Mississippi native. On Behalf of the AIA, I am truly delighted to congratulate him on this unique honor.” MIAL President Nancy LaForge, in another article from the Tulane School of Architecture, commented, “When it comes to making architecture more accessible to the general public, there’s really no one else from Mississippi like Robert Ivy.”

Like Robert Ivy on Facebook

Prior to becoming a member of the AIA in 2011, Robert completed work as editor-in-chief for the Architectural Record. During this time he was presented with many achievements, including the prestigious National Magazine Award. Recognized alongside Ludwig Mies vander Rohe, I.M. Pei, and R. Buckminster, Ivy is one of the world’s most well-known architects. He was awarded the honorary title of “Master Architect;” one of seven to receive such an honor throughout the organization’s 100-year history, by the national architecture fraternity Alpha Rho Chi. According to the AIA, since beginning his tenure in 2011 “membership is at the highest level it’s been in the organization’s 160-year history.” Robert has expanded AIA’s global presence with chapters in seven international locations, including China and Canada.

Joining the ranks of Eudora Welty, Shelby Foote, Morgan Freeman, Walter Anderson and Leontyne, Robert Ivy now assumes his rightful place among Noel Polk Award honorees.

Find more about Robert Ivy:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *